Moroccan Chicken Stew

This meal was a step away from my comfort zone but I’m glad I went for it.  We loved it so much, it will be added to our regular rotation.  I’ve never made a specific Moroccan meal before and have only used curry powder a handful of times, but somehow I knew this would be good.  It has a great warm, spicy flavor.  Probably too spicy for some people but perfect for us!

I made a few adaptations, mainly substituting chicken breast tenderloins in place of the bone-in chicken thighs but that’s what I had on hand.  It cooked faster using the tenderloins as well.  I also added fresh basil and omitted the raisins but will use them next time.

Moroccan Chicken Stew

Source:  adapted from Campbell’s Kitchen {clipped from a magazine}

serves 4-5 large portions

Ingredients

2 Tbsp olive oil

8 bone-in skinless chicken thighs {I used 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast tenderloins}

1 large red onion, sliced

1 large bell pepper cut into 1″ pieces {I used some red and orange bell pepper}

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 tsp cinnamon

1 Tbsp curry powder

1 can condensed tomato soup {I added a little water to rinse the can}

1/3 cup golden raisins

1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

1/3 cup silvered almonds {I used sliced almonds}

fresh basil – about 1 tablespoon, chopped

Directions:

Heat oil in a deep saucepan or dutch oven.  Add chicken {in batches} and brown on all sides; remove to a plate.

Add onions, pepper, and garlic to the pot and cook about 5 minutes, until tender-crisp.  Add cinnamon and curry and stir for one minute.  Stir in soup {and water} and heat to a boil.  Return chicken to pan.  Cover and cook over low heat for 15 minutes or until chicken in cooked through. Stir in chickpeas and raisins.  Then stir in the almonds and basil.

Serve over couscous or brown rice.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

