Baked Cake Doughnuts

I’ve been seeing baked doughnut recipes all over the blog world for a while now and I finally caved in and bought a doughnut pan so I could try them myself.  I kept things really simple and made the recipe right off the pan’s packaging.  They were OK for a first attempt, but were a little too dense for our liking.  I think Tim’s exact words were “too much cake, not enough air.”  Hahaha.  He cracks me up.

Baked Doughnuts

Source:  Wilton

Yield:  about 10-12 doughnuts

2 cups cake flour, sifted {I substituted 1-3/4 cup all-purpose flour + 1/4 cup cornstarch}

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1 tsp salt {pretty sure I reduced this to 1/2 tsp}

3/4 cup buttermilk {I substituted 1 Tbsp vinegar + enough milk to = 3/4 cup and let it sit for about 10 minutes}

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 Tbsp butter, melted

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425.  Spray pan with nonstick spray.

In a large mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt.  Add buttermilk, eggs, and butter.  Beat until just combined.  Transfer batter to a pastry bag and cut off the tip.  Fill each doughnut cup approx. 2/3 full.

Bake 7-9 minutes or until tops of doughnuts spring back when touched.  Let cool in pan for 4-5 minutes.  Repeat with remaining batter.

Finish donuts with glaze or topping of your choice —I made a simple glaze of powdered sugar + milk + splash of vanilla extract.  I also dusted a few doughnuts with powdered sugar alone.

Doughnuts are best eaten fresh, when they are still warm.

Like I said above, these were ok but I’ll definitely be modifying the recipe next time I make doughnuts.  I’d like to experiment with various flavors and toppings – especially chocolate.  Can I get an amen?!

Leave a Reply

