Roasted Chicken Breasts and Broccoli

This was the most delicious meal!  Truly, it was fantastic.  I can’t say enough about it, it just really hit the spot.  It all started because I wanted to cook some chicken breasts on a Sunday night to have on hand to eat during the week.  I’m trying to cook more on weekends because I just don’t have the desire to cook on weeknights anymore.  I’ve lost my gumption I tell you!   Anyway, then I saw this roasted broccoli recipe on Pinterest and decided to combine the two recipes into one meal.

The chicken was great, but the broccoli was my favorite part and now I want to eat it everyday.  The crispy bits of garlic were like candy.  🙂

Next time I make this meal I’ll probably prepare some brown rice to go with it.  And I wish I had a better picture because this one does it absolutely no justice!

 

Oven Roasted Lemon Chicken – serves 4

4 small chicken breasts {I had marinated the chicken in lemon juice for 20-30 minutes in the fridge, but that’s optional.}

drizzle of EVOO

s & p

minced garlic

dried herbs – parsley, rosemary, and thyme

Roasted Broccoli (adapted from Barefoot Contessa) – serves 2 or 3

1 large bundle of broccoli {about 4 cups once it was chopped up into florets}

3 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced

s & p

EVOO {about 4 tablespoons, just eyeball it}

Directions:

Cover two baking sheets with foil for easy clean-up.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Place the chicken on one pan, drizzle with a little oil, add salt and pepper, garlic, and herbs to the top of each breast.  Place in the oven and set a timer for 30 minutes.

After 10 minutes, add the baking sheet of broccoli to the oven as well {because it won’t take as long as the chicken}.  To prepare the broccoli for roasting, place the florets on the sheet pan, toss with oil, sliced garlic, and salt and pepper and then evenly spread the broccoli out.

Give the broccoli a stir/shake about half way through the baking time, some browning is normal.

Check the chicken after 30 minutes. The thickest part should no longer be pink.  May need 5 more minutes of cooking time.

When you remove the broccoli, zest a lemon over all {can squeeze with juice too, but I didn’t} and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese {I didn’t}.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

