Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Here’s another super simple crock-pot recipe.  🙂

I made this soup on a day that I was home from work so that I could watch it carefully.  I was a little afraid that the rice would get overcooked.  Well, time got away from me {big surprise!} and after 7 hours on low the rice was a little mushy, but not bad.  Maybe my crock-pot runs hot?  But next time, I’ll probably only let it go for 5 hours on low.   Also I will say, that I almost skipped the roux/milk step to make the soup creamy.  I think it would have been just fine as just a broth-based soup.  So I’ll keep that in mind next time – one recipe, two versions.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Source:  365daysofcrockpot.com

4 cups (one 32 oz carton) low sodium chicken broth

2 cups water

2 large boneless, skinless breasts {I used 4 small boneless, skinless chicken thighs}

1 box of Rice-A-Roni long grain and wile rice

1/2 tsp pepper

1 cup diced or shredded carrots

1 cup diced celery

3/4 cup flour

1/2 cup butter

2 cups half and half {I used skim milk}

Directions:

Combine broth, water, ground black pepper, carrots, celery, chicken, and rice (with seasoning packet) in a large slow cooker.  Cook on low for 5-8 hours or high for 4 hours (or until chicken is cooked through, veggies are tender, and rice is cooked).  Remove the chicken and shred it, then add back into slow cooker.  In a saucepan, melt butter over medium heat.  Stir in the flour slowly to form a roux.  Whisk in cream or milk, a little at a time, until fully incorporated and smooth.  Stir milk mixture into slow cooker and let it cook for about 15 more minutes.  Taste and adjust salt and pepper seasoning if needed.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

