Easy Chicken Pot Pie

I knew I would be short on cooking time for a few nights earlier this week due to Christmas shopping so I picked up a rotisserie chicken at the grocery store one night.  The next day when I had a little bit of time all I had to do was shred the chicken and measure out portions for different dishes.  After that I knew I’d have enough for at least 3 meals.  So I made this pot pie, a tamale pie (substituting chicken in place of the ground beef) that I threw in the freezer for later, used some chicken on top of salads for lunches, and I’m using the rest of the chicken for a small amount of chicken noodle soup.

This pot pie recipe calls for one cup of cooked chicken and two cups of mixed vegetables, but I think you could swap that if you want a meatier meal.  Use 2 cups chicken and one cup veggies.

Easy Chicken Pot Pie

Source:  Clipped from a small booklet called “Suppers”

Ingredients:

1 can of Campbell’s condensed cream of chicken soup

2 cups frozen mixed vegetables, thawed*

1 cup cubed/shredded cooked chicken

dash of ground pepper

1/2 cup milk

1 egg

1 cup all-purpose baking mix (Bisquick)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  In a 9-inch pie plate mix soup, veggies, black pepper, and chicken.  Mix the milk, egg, and baking mix.  Pour that over the chicken mixture.  Bake for 30 minutes or until golden.

Enjoy!

*To thaw vegetables, microwave on high for 3 minutes in a glass bowl with 1/4 cup of water.  Drain before adding to recipe.

Leave a Reply

