Gingerbread Baked Oatmeal

I mentioned before that I am totally loving oatmeal this winter.  So I was very pleased when I saw this gingerbread oatmeal recipe posted over at Budget Bytes.  I did make a few changes to try to avoid the custard-y texture, but I may have taken it too far because my results were a little too dry.  It was nothing that a little milk added to each serving didn’t take care of though.  I’ll note what I changed below.

Gingerbread Baked Oatmeal

Source:  Budget Bytes

Ingredients:

1/3 cup dark molasses

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp ground cloves

2 cups milk {I used almond milk}

2.5 cups old-fashioned oats {I used 3 cups for a dryer result}

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a bowl whisk together the molasses, brown sugar, eggs, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves.  Once everything is combined, add the milk.  Then stir in the oats.

Coat an 8×8″ or similar sized baking dish with non-stick spray.  Pour in the oat mixture.  Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes or until center of dish is firm to the touch.  {I did not cover mine.  I was thinking it would be less custard-like that way, given the chance to dry out more?  But like I said above, mine was a little too dry.  So I’ll experiment again, using the correct amount of oats & baking uncovered OR using 3 cups of oats and baking covered.  We’ll see what happens.}

Serve hot with milk and/or maple syrup on top.

Leave a Reply

