Pumpkin Oatmeal

So, I’ve been on a baked oatmeal kick lately.  I’ve made the fruit and oatmeal recipe twice, and now I have this wonderful baked pumpkin oatmeal to share with you.  I found it on a blog that I recently discovered called Budget Bytes and as you would expect, she offers recipes that are very budget conscious.  But, more importantly, they are always delicious and usually healthy too.  I’ve made one other recipe from her site so far and I’ll post about it later.

I really only have a few things to say about this recipe.  First is that the pumpkin flavor is very prominent {in the best possible way}.  Next, the texture is almost spongy.  Its hard to describe, but also good, just different from the other baked oatmeal that I tried.  And lastly I think I’ll add raisins next time and maybe chopped nuts too. 🙂

Pumpkin Oatmeal

Source: Budget Bytes

serves at least 6

Ingredients:

1 (15 oz) can pumpkin puree (not pie filling)

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp cinnamon {this was my addition because I love cinnamon!}

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1.5 cups milk {I used almond milk}

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

2.5 cups dry old-fashioned oats

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.  In large bowl, whisk together pumpkin puree, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, spices, salt, and baking powder until smooth.  Then stir in the milk and yogurt.

Mix the dry oats into the pumpkin mixture, coat an 8×8 (or similar) baking dish with non-stick spray.  Pour pumpkin oats into the dish and cover with foil.  Bake for 45 minutes, removing the foil after the first 30 minutes.

Serve and enjoy!

Topping options:  milk, maple syrup, nuts, raisins, a dash of cinnamon, and whipped cream.

Leave a comment