Split Pea Soup

Out of nowhere a couple of weeks ago, I had a craving for split pea soup.  This is beyond crazy because I have only eaten split pea soup once.  Ever.   It was at dinner before prom my junior year of high school.  Ten years ago people!  At the time, I didn’t even order it – it just came with the meal along with a salad bar that comes to your table on a giant tray. (Can anyone name that old Peoria restaurant?)

Why did I get a craving for a soup that I have only had once in my life?!  I have no idea.   I’m weird.

Anyway, I made a split pea soup today and it was fantastic!  I added a few other spices that the original recipe did not include.  I also omitted the carrots because I didn’t have any on hand.  It photographs like poo, but tastes great!

Now, will someone please tell me that they have random cravings for food that you ate 10 years (or more) ago.  Please make me feel normal again!

DSC01537

Split Pea Soup

{loosely adapted from Peabody , but I looked at numerous other sources as well that gave me the ideas to use chicken broth instead of all water and add oregano.}

Ingredients

1 pound of dried split peas

1 pound ham hock

3 large carrots, peeled and diced – I omitted

3 Tbsp butter

1 large onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

4-5 cups low sodium chicken broth plus about 2-3 cups of water

1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper, or to taste

dash of celery salt

1/2 tsp dried oregano

Directions

Pick over the split peas and sort out any debris or tiny stones, rinse.  Set aside.

Melt the butter in a large stock pot over medium high heat.  Add the onion, garlic and spices/seasonings and saute until onions are translucent, about 10 minutes.  Then add the ham hock, peas, and liquid.  Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer for about 1 hour.

After an hour has passed remove the ham to a cutting board and when you are able to handle it, chop into small 1/2″ pieces.  Return the pieces of ham {and carrots if you are using them} to the pot.  Return to a boil, cover and simmer for another 20 minutes or so or until thick enough for your liking.

Serve and enjoy!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie D
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 22:20:17

    I think I was there with you. Riverstation?

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 23:03:38

    It was Riverstation, but I went with Keith Mercer. I thought we went alone, but that part is foggy.
    funny!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Menu 1-3-10 « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a comment